Management Team

Overview

Hout Bay Neighbourhood Watch (HBNW) was formed in April 2005 by a group of residents who were not only incensed by the brutal murder of an up-country visitor who was staying in Hout Bay prior to riding in the Argus Cycle Tour, but concerned about the increasing number of incidents of crime in and around the valley. 

From small beginnings, and with very little experience in how to develop and sustain an organisation directly associated with safety and security issues, the watch has flourished with the support of some 2650 signed-up members and the backing of hundreds of active patrollers, responders and administrators.  These volunteers have, in some cases since day one, worked tirelessly to maintain an “eyes and ears” back-up to SAPS and local Security Service Providers in order to bring a measure of stability to Hout Bay and Llandudno by limiting opportunities for criminals to commit crimes.

All Documents pertaining to HBNW can be found on this link>> Please note you have to login first as it is only available to members of HBNW.

Management Team

An organisation of this nature requires a management team and the current executive is as follows:

Management Committee

 
Chairperson Andrew Martin chair@hbnw.co.za
Vice-Chair Liezl Schulte vice@hbnw.co.za   
Admin Manager Debbie Spowart admin@hbnw.co.za
PA to HBNW Admin Keith Fawcett pa@hbnw.co.za
Secretary Debbie Spowart admin@hbnw.co.za
Treasurer Peter Hayes Houtbay2006@googlemail.com
Media Liason Doreen Malan media@hbnw.co.za
Marketing Vacant marketing@hbnw.co.za       melmel
Governance Brad Geyser gov@hbnw.co.za
Operations Rod Panagos ops@hbnw.co.za
Watchcon Systems Manager Alex Rossi penzance@hbnw.co.za

Executive Committee (EXCO)

In addition, there is an Executive Committee (EXCO) that is made up of Area Leaders who represent the many areas that comprise the geographical length and breadth of Hout Bay and Llandudno.  HBNW Exco meets once a month and minutes of these meetings are available here>>  Please note you need to Login first as this page is only available to HBNW members.

EXCO - Area Leaders:

 

 
Baviaanskloof   Keith Cronwright kc5@mweb.co.za
Beach Estate Steve Meinhold stevemeinhold@googlemail.com
Berg-en- Dal Renier Combrink bergendalestatemanager@gmail.com
Bokkemanskloof Andy Shoredits felsnest@global.co.za
Disa River Rod Panagos ops@hbnw.co.za
Hangberg Philip Frans   hangbergeducation@yahoo.com
Helgarda/Klein Leeukop Louise Read lread590@gmail.com
Hout Bay Heights Andre Machado andre@machado.co.za 
Hughenden/Meadows Norman Brook Norman@brooksportandleisure.com
Imizamo Yethu Vincent Sodladla vincentsodladla@yahoo.com
Kenrock Alison McGillan ironmomally@me.com
Kronenzicht Anthea Leppington aleppington@me.com
Llandudno Carel de Ridder carel.deridder@gmail.com
Longkloof Toby Adams theadamsfamily@mweb.co.za
Mount Rhodes Yvonne Noel yenoel@gmail.com
Nooitgedacht Lutz Schniewind lutz.schniewind@gmail.com
Northshore Mike McLennan mike@transformconsultancy.co.za
Oakhurst Dennis Steggink dennis@idx9.co.za
Orangekloof Andrew Martin andrew@martinfamily.co.za
Overkloof Meryl Butt   meryl.butt@rawson.co.za
Penzance Alex Rossi hbnw.penzance@gmail.com
Ruyterplaats Sean McLeod sean@seanmcleod.com
Scott Estate Fanie Malan   malanfanie@gmail.com
Tarragona Grant Back
Tierboskloof Charmayne Davel manager@tierboskloof.com
Victorskloof Chris Whales chris@gan.co.za
Village/CBD Allan Dellbridge allan@coastalsecurity.co.za

Community Police Forum

 
Chairman Toby Adams cpfhoutbay.chairperson@gmail.com

 Other

 
Webmaster Doreen Malan media@hbnw.co.za

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
   Site Last Updated:       26 May 2017    
    Thank you to all who donate and assist us
We do not charge for membership and there is no expectation that members have to contribute financially. However we need to maintain the systems that keep YOU safe. So we welcome donations from residents and businesses alike. 
For more details on Area Safety Plans and the spending of area specific donations (ring-fenced funds) please contact your Area Leader.
Please help us to help you and make a donation today!
Reference "Watchcon" & your name/cell number 
Our Banking Details:
Bank: Nedbank
Branch: Hout Bay
Branch code: 167 609
Account type: Cheque
Account No: 167 602 9133
Account name: Hout Bay Neighbourhood Watch

 

 
Login  to see restricted information on this site.
Please use your HBNW userID (which is your email address) and password to login below.
Forgot password
Not a HBNW member yet?
Click here to become a HBNW member.
Benefits of membership How can I help?
 
If you are logged in but still can't access the locked pages then please click on the Home button and the pages should unlock, provided you remain logged in.
 

EMERGENCY CONTACTS

Watchcon
021 790 9333 or 082 883 6142

SAPS Emergency
10111

SAPS Charge Office/CSC
021 791 9300 or 021 791 8660

Click here for more numbers.

 
Poll
Jan 2017: Are you feeling more positive about living in Hout Bay than you did a year ago?
I don't feel any different, one way or another
Yes - I'm even happier living in Hout Bay than I was a year ago
No - things are worse than they were a year ago
 
 

We're Listening....

Thank you for taking our last pollHere are the results:
What do you rely on to keep informed of crime in Hout Bay?
38.5% - Two or more of these options  
24.3% - I've joined a specific crime WhatsApp group for my area   
12.9% - I check the Daily Crime reports on this website 
11.4% - I check crime posts on Hout Bay Organised (HBO)  
10.0% - I listen to my HBNW radio  
 2.9% - I follow a specific Hout Bay crime page on social media 
 0.0% - I use Zello or OurHood or similar crime Apps 
 
70 responses
 

Our Community

Hout Bay & Llandudno Heritage Trust
 
 
 
 
 

More Reading:

  • Private-disrespect

  • ProbablePublic-deafen

  • probable-widower

  • procession-donkey

  • pronunciation-businesslike

  • punctual-motherhood

  • quart-sadden

  • Quick-handshake

  • Quiet-calculator

  • ray-headdress